Postcard from Germany

18 08 2008

I am in Germany right now and thought I would take a moment to post some quick photos!  I have stayed primarily in the Baden-Wurttemberg area so far, specifically in Stuttgart and Freiburg, as I am visiting my sister and brother-in-law. 


The Black Forest

My impression of Germany so far is that the countryside is incredibly scenic and the historic town centers look like they come straight out of a fairy tale.  To me, the Black Forest actually looks like it should contain damsels in distress and princes to rescue them.


Landeck, outside of Freiburg.


A quaint street in the city of Freiburg.

When I get back to the US, I hope to be writing a whole series on Germany.  I cannot wait to visit Munich, Neuschwanstein in Fussen, and Rothenburg next week!


Actions

Information

5 responses

20 08 2008
PS

hehe, I had this fantasy where, after I retire, I will spend an entire year in Black Forest, staying in a little cottage. Take long walks in the mornings, two hour long lunches in the afternoons followed by siestas and evening walks, and spend the evenings curled up on the deck/in front of the fire (depending on the season). 🙂

20 08 2008
travelswithsandy

P, you would love the Black Forest. I believe there are many hikes you can do, as well as lakes where you can kayak. There is also rock climbing. The forest itself is breathtaking – I just kept staring at it. We saw many cottages so I am sure you could rent them. 🙂

20 08 2008
travelswithsandy

I forgot to mention that you are also near the German wine region in that area. The only thing is the German food… hehehe. Although in the greater Freiburg area there are many great restaurants that specialize in serving the freshest food from local farms – they are called Strausse and are excellent.

23 08 2008
ps

hehe, i know, i went 5 years ago… but that was in the winter, so i’d love to go back to see how it is like in the summer! did you go kayak? 🙂

have you been to paris already?

26 08 2008
Woody

Good description of German countryside and nice pix.

Leave a comment