Postcard from Middle Earth

7 03 2009

Charles and I are still in New Zealand, but I thought I would send a postcard to give you a taste of what is to come. Despite some uncooperative weather, New Zealand has been amazing so far. The scenery is even more dramatic and unspoiled than we expected, and the people have been among the friendliest and warmest we have met.

From New Zealand

A view from Edoras, Capital of Rohan (Mt. Sunday, Erehwon).

Click on the link above for a few more teaser shots. Unfortunately, our internet access is not fast enough for me to upload more photographs. But don’t worry, I will get them up eventually!  I will also take this moment to introduce my new camera, the Canon Rebel Xsi (450D).  This is my first SLR camera, and I am loving it so far!

Actions

Information

5 responses

8 03 2009
dennis

have u encountered any orcs so far

10 03 2009
globetrotteri

Happy travels Sandy. I’m so jealous. I’ve never been to New Zealand. Well, not yet anyways! I’m looking forward to your travel photos. Are you going on any glacier treks? I hear Fox Glacier is amazing and it has day trips for beginners and advanced hikers.

10 03 2009
dennis

i’ve been to fox glacier, walking on the glacier u can find ponds of freezing water from the melted ice, a tour guide would actually allow u to skinny dip, that is if u dare of coz, a couple of ppl in my tour did it.

10 03 2009
travelswithsandy

Dennis, we haven’t seen any orcs, but it’s not for lack of trying! Although we took a tour to see Mt. Sunday, we sought out other LOTR sights on our own if they were on the way.

Carrie, we didn’t end up doing any glacial treks, unfortunately. With just two weeks, there just wasn’t enough time. We did try to see as much of NZ as possible though, stopping in Auckland, Waiheke Island, Wellington, Abel Tasman National Park, Nelson, Kaikoura, Christchurch, and of course Queenstown. NZ is definitely worth visiting though!!

Thanks for sharing your experience Dennis! I must say that you Kiwis are very hardy folk. I went swimming with dolphins in Kaikoura in a wetsuit in summer and I have never been so cold in my life!

I am looking forward to posting about our NZ trip! Unfortunately, I probably won’t be able to get started for another week or so because I have to take a detour to Taiwan for my grandfather’s funeral.

11 03 2009
dennis

nz waters are cold all year round, not to mention the weather has already gotten cold in nz, it has relatively short summers. I guess it is still officially summer but i was told already that there’s been some very very cold nights. im not fond of cold water so personally i wouldnt even dip into a nz summer ocean. i’ve heard of a joke that goes, once global warming gets bad enough the world will flock to nz and tasmania (australia).
on a side note i am not a kiwi, i am a new zealander by nationality. im a taiwanese who grew up in auckland, but now lives and works in melbourne australia.
look forward to seeing ur posts of ur nz trip.

Leave a Reply

